Pneumagen is focused on developing glycan targeted carbohydrate binding modules (CBMs) as a new universal therapeutic modality for the treatment of respiratory tract infections (RTIs) and cancer. Founded in 2016, the Company is a spin-out from the University of St Andrews in Scotland and has access to world-class scientific expertise and capabilities in glycobiology.

Our team

Douglas Thomson, Chief Executive Officer

Douglas Thomson has significant international experience as CEO, Chairman, NXD and Business Development Director. He has led executive teams generating rapid value creation at companies such as 4D Pharma. Working with Thomas to deliver the Company’s strategic objectives, Douglas accesses an extensive network of industry experts and service providers to drive forward Pneumagen’s products and technologies. He has executed multiple commercial deals with biotechnology and pharmaceutical companies.

Dr Helen Connaris, Chief Scientific Officer

Dr Helen Connaris is the world’s foremost expert on the use of CBMs for the treatment of disease. A Principal Investigator at the University of St. Andrews, Helen, with Professor Taylor, was the first to recognise the potential for CBMs as products. A co- inventor on the CBM patents, Helen’s research focus has been on CBMs and their application to disease. As Chief Scientific Officer, Helen now leads the Company funded research and platform development.

Professor Garry Taylor, Director and Chairman of Scientific Advisory Board

Professor Garry Taylor was until recently, the Master of the University of St. Andrews, Scotland. A co- inventor of the CBM intellectual property, the ‘Taylor’ lab has a long history in studying the molecular mechanisms of proteins from respiratory pathogens and it is the work of his team that led to the CBM technology and products. Garry is a shareholder, director and advisor to the Company including chairing the Scientific Advisory Board.

Thomas Engelen, Non-executive Chairman

Thomas Engelen has a track record in creating value in Listed and in Private Equity backed investments in Life Sciences and Chemicals including financial and operational turn-around as part of MBO and MBI. Support to PE in Due Diligence in various European countries, Brazil and the USA on targets with Enterprise Value up to US$ 1 Billion. Current engagements include, Non-Executive Director and co-founder 4D Pharma PLC as well as Chair at Innovatrain AG and Stan Chem International Ltd.

Scientific Advisory Board

Professor Paul Crocker

Professor Paul Crocker FRSE is Professor of Glycoimmunology at the University of Dundee. His research investigates how immune cells utilize host glycans to regulate immune and inflammatory responses in human disease.  He is a co-founder of, and scientific advisor to Palleon Pharmaceuticals, which focuses on immuno-oncology.

Professor David Harrison

Professor David Harrison FRCPath FRCPEd FRCSEd is the John Reid Chair of Pathology at the University of St Andrews and former Director of Laboratory Medicine for NHS Lothian. He holds visiting professorships at the Universities of Edinburgh and Glasgow. His research focuses on using cutting edge technology to understand processes in health and disease.

Sir John Skehel

Sir John Skehel FRS FMedSci, is a world leader in influenza research for which he has received many awards. He headed the WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza and was Director of the National Institute of Medical Research in London for almost 20 years. He is currently Vice President and Biological Secretary of The Royal Society and an Emeritus professor at The Francis Crick Institute, London.

Professor Moira Whyte

Professor Moira Whyte OBE FRCP FMedSci FRSE is the Sir John Crofton Professor of Respiratory Medicine at the University of Edinburgh. She is Vice-Principal and Head of the College of Medicine and Veterinary Science at the University of Edinburgh, and former Director of the Medical Research Council Centre for Inflammation Research.